

PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org

Phone: 402.359.2583 Fax: 402.359.4371

Engage, Prepare, and Empower (

Jim Knott – High School Principal Douglas County West High School

Board Report April 15, 2024

As we approach the end of the school year, many important events are either happening or are on the horizon at the high school. We recently finished administering the state-required Nebraska ACT on March 26. Eighty-one out of eighty-three juniors arrived on time and ready to test that morning - an accomplishment in itself. The two students that were absent made up the test on April 9. Thanks go out to our ACT team of Dr. Dawn Marten, Ron Michael, Nikki Billedeaux, John Brockhaus, Maggie Dailey, Jared Wiemer, Lisa Leonard, Alyssa Lindahl, Sean Pralle, and Cyndi Thomas. The amount of time this group spent organizing and administering the test according to strict ACT standards is definitely appreciated. We should receive preliminary ACT results before the end of the school year.

On Saturday, March 30, Prom was held at the "A View Event Center" on West Shores Lake. Thanks go out to Steve and Brandi Goldapp for the generous donation of the prom venue. The theme was "Tangled" and was open to all DC West Juniors, Seniors, and their individual guests. Post-prom was sponsored by the Junior Parents and was held from 11:00PM - 2:00AM at Omaha Sports and Games Company. We would also like to thank Lindsey Boardman, Maggie Dailey, Jenny Finck, Barb Feldhacker, Nathan TerBeest, and Deputy Paulison for all of their help organizing and supervising the Prom.

We recently interviewed and hired for two HS positions for next year. They are listed below. There are also two High School Special Education positions currently open.

- 1) HS Counselor Hired Katie Richards Ms. Richards is originally from Ashland and attended the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. She taught Family and Consumer Science for four years at Giltner High School and was the Middle School Guidance Counselor at DC West this school year. Along with her counseling duties, she will teach three sections of College Preparation in the fall.
- 2) HS Math Hired JD Gagner Mr. Gagner is originally from Sitka, Alaska, student taught math with Ms. Cox at DC West, and graduated from Midland University in the spring of 2023. He was hired by DC West Middle School to teach STEM this year and will be moving to the High School Math Department next year. He will teach Algebra I, Algebra I Support, and Pre-Algebra.

The third quarter honor roll is attached to the second page of this report.



PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org

Phone: 402.359.2583

Fax: 402.359.4371

= Engage, Prepare, and Empower **=**

Quarter 3 Honor Roll of Distinction 2023-2024 SENIORS JUNIORS

SEINIORS		JONIOK3		
Eric Asher *	Jaylee Negley *	Karsten Alexander	Gavin Lakner *	
Paige Bias-White *	Taylor Patterson	Sydney Atkins	Bryce Larsen *	
Laney Bissaillon *	Angelina Ramos Garcia	Jamison Badje	Cameron Madden	
Anna Borner *	Raya Sattem *	Jaeda Bakken *	Grant Mayer	
Brandon Christensen *	Ashton Scott	Will Bergsten	Colton Meduna	
Brook Cooke *	Carley Shaw	Kelan Bohlen *	Madelyn Mitchell *	
Savannah Grabenstein	Madison Taft *	Tieler Collette	Sarah Perkons	
Gage Gratopp *	Zachary Uehling	Trent Davidson *	Carli Ptacek	
Hemeny Gutierrez	Kylee Vaughan	Carleigh Dembinski *	Evan Steele	
Grace Holm *	Ryker Wohlers	Jagger Denker	Mitchell Sullivan *	
Elizabeth Jensen- Robinson *	Charles Wood	Lyla Elsaesser	Zoe Teitler *	
Caleb Johnson	Jack Woodward	Huston Farrens	Kayden VerMaas	
Harley Kaven *	Lily Wright *	Alexis File *	Brody Walsh	
Cheyenne Kilmer		Austin Fletcher	Colton Willmott	
Megan Kopocis*		Robert Graves IV	Dakota Wolter	
Kale Kotil		Ramses Graves	Maddison Zach	
Aubree Liss		Chloe Greve		
Ellie Lloyd		Ava Grimm *		
Daniel Luna-Garza *		Aidan Heim		
Terry Luthy III *		Stella Higginson		
Maria Malousek		Brody Hillyer *		
Olivia Malousek *		Bryar Jensen		
Nathan Martin		Catherine Johnson		
Zachary McArdle *		Remy Kirby *		
Jonas Meairs-Richman		Miles Korb		

SOPHOMORES FRESHMEN

Bailey Anderson	Madelyn Phillips *	Hailey Albrecht *	Emma Kopocis *
Bella Anderson	Anella Pralle *	Trent Alexander	Tucker Korb
Nolan Asher*	Abby Rayer	Liliana Balus	Lillian Lakner *
Kayden Foster	Kyler Rippe	Noelle Beyl *	Jack Landauer
Joslyn Giles	Jetta Sattem	Peyton Bias-White	Falon Mathes
Ian Gleason	Trey Schieber *	Lydia Bonacci	Jesse Mentzer
Nylee Hayner	Waylon Schroeder *	James Bussen	Kinley Nelson
Adora Hays-Lavender	Jackson Schuiteman *	Allyson Cooke *	Carina Ray
Tess Henrichs	Joseph Stammer	Brynlee Dasher	Aubree Richards
Barrett Hinrichs	Addison Strong *	Casey Dembinski	Ryder Songer
Maren Jarecke	Jaxon Swierczek*	Hayden Gottsch	Katelyn Stanton
Emma Kincanon *	Jadie Vieth	Julian Gottsch	Carson Stanzel
Cade Listenberger	Jasmine West	Angel Hernandez	Gage Travis
Damian Monroe	Beau Wilcox	Kami Herrington	Aspen VerMaas *
Kolten Nelson	Rowan Williams	Eva Hert	Talia Walsh *
Amelia North	Evan Winters	Scarlett Higginson	Ava Walvoord
Benjamin Oien	Zane Wohlers*	Brayton Holding *	Brody Wiese
Trey Olsen	Izzabella Zach	Hunter Holding *	Ella Wiese *
Mason Pettit		Halaina Hunter	Sindee Zook
Alexander Phillips *		Adisan Jeffrey	



PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064

www.DCWest.org Phone: 402.359.2583

Fax: 402.359.4371

Engage, Prepare, and Empower =

Quarter 3 Honor Roll of Merit 2023-2024

SENIORS	JUNIORS	SOPHOMORES	FRESHMEN
Ty Bevington	Jackson Denker	Kyle Gregurich	Garrett Blunt
Levent Capan	Markus Dorson	Saybra Hermanson	Amalia Braun
Michael Croom	Trenton Guardipee	Caiden Hoops	Mikayla Cappello
Lillyan Duncan	Brayden Hayden	Kai Jorgensen	Will Dugan
Darby Giles	Lily Herman	Blaine Martin	Emily Fletcher
Hudson Jarecke	Aspen Huber	Molly Moehling	Hudson Harlow
Alexandria Johnson	Kiya Johnson	Grant Parr	Johanna Luthy
Lukas Johnson	Caiden Marksmeier	Colton Trost	Anthony Neto Almenares
Payton Lawler	Roen Murdock	Paul Valadez	Yhosvel Perez Pages
Aspen LeCureux	Samuel Musson		Chloe Saathoff
Jayden Paulson	Grant Scott		Dalton Schnatz
Will Reeves	Luke Thimmesch		Mallory Shaw
Brady Singer			Lane Smith
Makynna TenEyck			Wyatt TenEyck
Cameron Wiese			Remington White
Mesfin Wilson			
Antwan Wright			